Lifetimeoflove's Blog


ring-a-ding-ding
January 6, 2010, 11:13 am
Filed under: Ze Ring | Tags: , ,

Quickly after we moved in together the conversation turned towards us becoming engaged. The first time G brought it up I was so excited I almost puked (romantic, no?).

I have some really good jeweller connections through work so we started off the hunt for the ring locally. Before our first visit I did some research online and was very partial to Tacori…

source

When I tried the Tacori line on I was just as much in love as when I saw them online. They had amazing detail and looked vintage inspired (something I totally swoon over). Then we got the price… The band alone would cost over $5,000.00. That’s without the stones!! At that moment my Tacori bubble was burst.

The nextย  ring I looked at was a tension setting. It had one large diamond with several smaller flanking stones. This ring was much more modern than looking I thought I would be drawn to; but, I tried it on and really liked it.

source

It looked lovely on my finger (but, I guess all diamonds do!) but I just wasn’t sure if it was something I could see myself wearing for the rest of my life. I also thought the price was a little steep at $4,000.00.

So we left the jewellery store that day empty-handed but with some ideas as to what styles we liked. I then took to Etsy to see if I could find anything that tickled my fancy. After a little bit of searching I found this:

Source

An epically beautiful amethyst ring with a diamond surround. This was not similar to any engagement rings I had tried on but I fell ever so in love with it at first site.

I e-mailed Gat work and he loved the ring just as I did. We reviewed the sellers comments and had some conversations with him, then, a few days later, the ring was on its way to us!

I never would have thought that my engagement ring would be non-diamond or purchased online but it was definitely the right move for us!

Were you surprised with which rings you were most drawn to when you really began ring hunting?


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I looooove your e-ring! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s gorgeous. Maybe I can convince the Mr. to get me a right-hand ring for my wedding present? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comment by Abby

That is a gorgeous e-ring! Such a good choice! I wanted the FI to get me a non-diamond but he insisted ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by mismikado

What a gorgeous ring! Love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Amy

Thanks ladies!
@abby – Good luck with the convincing ๐Ÿ™‚ !

Comment by lifetimeoflove




Leave a comment